SOME COMMON VITAL ERRORS WE MAKE WHILE SPEAKING ENGLISH LANGUAGE.

For those of us who had to learn English language in our schools, I think we are sometimes at the end of making some vital errors whole speaking English language.
this is why we have compiled some English statements in their right and wrong forms. DO ENJOY- Joelmurray

Wrong: I live in United States.
Right: I live in the United States.

Wrong: When I will arrive, I will call you.
Right: When I arrive, I will call you.

Wrong: I’ve been here since three months.
Right: I’ve been here for three months.

Wrong: My boyfriend has got a new work.
Right: My boyfriend has got a new job. (or just “has a new
job”)

Don’t say: Antartic | Do say: Antarctic
Comment: Just think of an arc of ants (an ant arc) and
that should help you keep the [c] in the pronunciation of
this word.

Don’t say: Artic | Do say: Arctic
Comment: Another hard-to-see [c] but it is there.
Don’t say: aks | Do say: ask
Comment: This mispronunciation has been around for so
long (over 1,000 years) that linguist Mark Aronoff thinks
we should cherish it as a part of our linguistic heritage.
Most of us would give the axe to “aks.”
Don’t say: athelete, atheletic | Do say: athlete , athletic
Comment: Two syllables are enough for “athlete.”

“Fewer” vs. “Less”
Use “fewer” when discussing countable objects. For
example, “He ate five fewer chocolates than the
other guy,” or “fewer than 20 employees attended
the meeting.”
Use “less” for intangible concepts, like time. For
example, “I spent less than one hour finishing this
report.”

“It’s vs “Its”
Normally, an apostrophe symbolizes possession. As
in, “I took the dog’s bone.” But because
apostrophes also usually replace omitted letters —
like “don’t” — the “it’s” vs. “its” decision gets
complicated.
Use “its” as the possessive pronoun: “I took its
bone.” For the shortened version of “it is” use the
version with the apostrophe. As in, “it’s raining.”

Don’t say: lambast | Do say: lambaste
Comment: Better to lambaste the lamb than to baste him
remember, the words rhyme. “Bast” has nothing to do
with it.

Don’t say: Larnyx | Do say: larynx
Comment: More metathesis. Here the [n] and [y] switch
places. Mind your [n]s and [y]s as you mind your [p]s
and [q]s.

Don’t say: Laura Norder | Do say: law and order
Comment: The sound [aw] picks up an [r] in some
dialects (also “sawr” and “gnawr”). Avoid it and keep
Laura Norder in her place.

Don’t say: leash | Do say: lease
Comment: Southern Americans are particularly liable to
confuse these two distinct words but the confusion
occurs elsewhere. Look out for it.

Don’t say: libel | Do say: liable
Comment: You are liable for the damages if you are
successfully sued for libel. But don’t confuse these
discrete words.

Don’t say: libary | Do say: library
Comment: As mentioned before, English speakers dislike
two [r]s in the same word. However, we have to buck up
and pronounce them all.

Wrong:I have visited Niagara Falls last weekend.
Right :I visited Niagara Falls last weekend.

Wrong: The woman which works here is from Japan.
Right: The woman who works here is from Japan.

Wrong: She’s married with a dentist.
Right: She’s married to a dentist.

Wrong: She was boring in the class.
Right: She was bored in the class.

Wrong: I must to call him immediately.
Right: I must call him immediately.

Wrong: Every students like the teacher.
Right: Every student likes the teacher.

Wrong: Although it was raining, but we had the picnic.
Right: Although it was raining, we had the picnic.

Wrong: I enjoyed from the movie.
Right: I enjoyed the movie.

Wrong: I look forward to meet you.
Right: I look forward to meeting you.

Wrong: I like very much ice cream.
Right: I like ice cream very much.

Leave a Reply

